Monday, September 17, 2012

One More Saturday Night

I know life is filled with miscommunications galore, yet I always hate when it happens to me, especially with something I've said.

B had a trying week with the in-laws.  Like they were harassing him and his family wanting to know what was going on.  Evidently someone in their lives has been feeding the in-laws information about what's going on between he and his wife.  * sigh *  Why can't people just mind their own business.  When it's time for people to know - they'll know.  Ideally.

I didn't see B on Friday.  Saturday he texted me and said he was restless and wanted to go out and do something.  I threw out a handful of options - including going out somewhere.  A and I aren't huge going out types when we're together.  It's one of those instances where it's not fun to go out if you're not going to enjoy it and going out with someone who enjoys it is a much happier experience.  B likes to go out and I am afraid I conveyed something incorrectly to him.  He knows we're not huge going out types; however, I think I inadequately conveyed that I didn't like going out *period*.  A lot of that stems from the fact that Amy and I aren't drinkers - like we used to not drink * at all*.  In the last few months, though, we've been revisiting that and have nightly beers and the like.  Going out isn't all that scary when you can actually fit in.  A and I have been out several times in the last few months and had a good time together.

So, he was going out.  I got pissy because I felt like I wasn't welcomed or included.  I was a little passive aggressive and in hindsight that is something I am going to have to deal with.  I did apologize.  I felt like he didn't go out because I had a little episode and that bothers me more than anything.  I want him to live his life and do what he wants to do and be happy.  I know he wants the same for me.

A little later we did get that part ironed out.  I explained to him that while it may not be mine and A's thing that doesn't mean it couldn't be mine and B's thing.  He enjoys going out.  I enjoy spending time with him *regardless* - just like I do with A. 

He said he was lonely and wanted to be reckless.  I am not quite sure what reckless means in this situation, but I feel terribly boring.  I know I'm boring and I'm ok with it.  I just wish I was more "vibrant" - I suppose.  That may not even be the right word for it.

At any rate, though, I have an opportunity this weekend to cut loose and show him I'm not a stick in the mud.  Maybe I can adequately convey that.

No comments:

Post a Comment