Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Writing it all out (Part 5B)

Another layer of my dynamic with B is the whole D/s thing.

God, I feel like such a failure in this department. 

I think B most closely identifies as a switch.  I identify as a dominant, but I do like to switch on occasion.

We've talked about how it's not the focal point of our relationship.  We've talked about how it's not possible to be 24/7 in our respective roles.  I'm totally ok with that.  I prefer it that way, even.

He has a hard time getting into the mindset and when I try to go there with him I just end up with egg on my face.  For him I think it's tied to recognizing patterns in his relationship with his wife and not wanting to get back into those patterns with me.  I completely understand that.

I just feel like I'm totally missing the mark.  I'm not picking up on context clues.  I don't know when it's ok to be "Ma'am" and when it's just me making a fool of myself.  The last time I went there was disastrous.  It really hurt my feelings and - like every other fucking thing - it directly hit my "you're not worthy" button.

He told me he had a hard time getting into that headspace, so I suggested a couple things that might help.  Of course, both of the things I told him were shot down because "if I have to do it then it means nothing."  What he fails to understand is that it means something *to me*.  Nothing that I ask him to do in that regard is frivolous. 

I don't *need* this dynamic to have a happy relationship with someone.  However, it is something I enjoy.  I've contemplated trying to find a boy who is into it simply to satiate that desire, but I struggle with that for several reasons.  I don't want B to feel inadequate.  I don't want to develop another relationship and end up neglecting the ones that are important to me.  I don't want it to be a string of play dates.  I want my boy.  I thought that was a possibility with B, but things change.  I'm ok with them changing.  I just need to talk about it - and - that goes back to needing and asking for more communication, which I feel guilty for even wanting.

I've offered to put all that to the side, but he wants to "keep it as an option."  When I try to discern how that works in my head it comes out a jumbled mess.  How can I be dominant when I don't even know if it's *ok* to let Her out?  How can I be dominant when I have to get permission from him to go there?  In my mind it means that he's really the one in control of the when/where/how/why and I am just a prop.  I'd rather not have it at all than have it with those conditions.

I know it seems like I'm bitching a lot; however, I *am* thankful for my relationship with B.  He makes me want to be a better person.  I guess I just have to be ok with who I am right now.  It's a learning process.  I didn't get this fucked up overnight and I know it won't just magically be "fixed" overnight. 

I don't think either of us knew what we were getting ourselves into when we started on this journey - and I would still buy the ticket and take the ride even if I did know.  He's worth it.  I hope I am, too.

No comments:

Post a Comment